Guide
Sharing a Space along with its data and Views is the most straightforward way to provide access in Fibery. If you need something more granular, consider Share Database or even Share Entity.
How to share a Space
By default, new Spaces are visible to Admins only. To share a Space with a User, a Group, or everyone in the workspace:
Find the Space in the sidebar and show its Databases.
Navigate to Access page.
Add users and groups, select the desired access and click Invite.
Admins always have Architect access to all Spaces: otherwise, it's hard to create a truly connected Workspace.
What each access level includes
You can choose between five access levels. Here is what each of them includes:
| Architect | Owner | Editor | Commenter | Viewer |
Space |
👁️ See the Space with all its Views, Docs, and Whiteboards in the sidebar | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
📂 Manage Views and Folders | ✅ | | | | |
⚙️ Rename and delete | ✅ | | | | |
🔒 Manage access | ✅ | | | | |
Databases |
⚙️ Create, configure, and delete | ✅ | | | | |
🔒 Manage access | ✅ | | | | |
Documents and Whiteboards |
👁️ View | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
💬 Comment | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | |
➕ Create | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
✍️ Edit | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
🗑️ Delete | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
🌐 Share to web | ✅ | ✅ | | | |
Entities (if not excluded) |
👁️ View | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
💬 Comment | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | |
➕ Create | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
✍️ Edit | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
🗑️ Delete | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | | |
⛔ Revoke access | ✅ | ✅ | | | |
🌐 Share to web | ✅ | ✅ | | | |
How to share a Space without sharing its data
This functionality is available on Pro and Enterprise plans.
https://youtu.be/in3AbEmkiT8?si=ZfAtkOWEusAi8lw_
In some cases, you want the Space to appear in someone's sidebar alongside with its Views, Documents, and Whiteboards, but don't want to share all the data (aka entities) inside.
For example, you want each product manager only to see the work related to their Product or each sales rep to only see the Leads they are assigned to. At the same time, you want them to benefit from shared Views and contribute to team-wide Docs and Whiteboards.
In this case, here's the plan:
Share a Space with them without sharing the data → a person will be able to see the Space in their sidebar with all its Views, Docs, and Whiteboards, but the Views will appear empty.
Selectively Share Database or Share Entity (maybe an entire hierarchy using Custom Access Templates for Sharing Entities) → the person will see the Views now populated with data, but only the data relevant to them.
How to hide data from Admins
This functionality is available on Pro and Enterprise plans.
By default, Admins have full access to all Spaces.
Architects without access to data
If some Space contains sensitive data you'd like to hide even from Admins, you can use the same mechanism of excluding access to data.
Go to the Space's Access page, find Admins row on top, and click x next to the Architect:
Admins will still see the Space in the sidebar and will be able to configure its Databases, Fields, and Views.
They will also have full access to Space-level Documents, Whiteboards, and Reports. If you need to hide content from Admins, make sure it belongs to some Entity.
The data Views will look empty to Admins — unless you explicitly share certain Databases or Entities.
Admins cannot bypass permissions via API, export, scripted automation Rules, or by simply moving a secret Database to the Space where they have full access. They also cannot grant access to the hidden data to anyone else.
Scripts in Automations run under the same permissions as Admins, so they won't be able to access data in Spaces hidden from Admins.
Someone has to have full access
You can click that x as long as there's at least one person (not necessarily an Admin) with full access to the Space.
No matter what you do (deactivate Users, delete User Groups, etc.), we always make sure every Space has its proper Architect, so you don't end up with data accessible to no one.
Keep in mind
You can't remove Admins from a Space entirely: they always keep Architect access to manage its structure and to connect Databases from other Spaces.
You can't hide data from Admins in a Space published to web. Why would you, though? 🙃
In public sharing settings, publicly shared Entities from hidden Spaces show up as private, and Admins can't see their links.
How to audit Space access
People can get different Space access individually and by being a member of several User Groups — all this access is summed up. To see the final result, click on the Shared with … users button in top right corner:
Here you'll see the list of all users who have at least some access to Space. If you expand a particular one, you'll see how exactly they've received their access:
FAQ
Why is some user not showing up in the list?
Admins don't appear in the list of users to share a Space with, since they always have Architect access.